Cool Culinaria Ultimate Giclee Prints on 130lb paper. Printed in USA.
Each print is accompanied by an 11x17" copy of the interior menu
The rather plain façade of a massive Clearview movieplex now occupies the old Cavanagh's site at 254-260 West 23rd Street in Manhattan. A twelve-table clam bar called Kenny's had stood at 258 since 1876 and John J. Cavanagh took it over in 1894 and so Cavanagh's was born. It soon became popular with Tammany Hall politicians and sporting figures, especially prize-fighters, and the business flourished. The restaurant expanded by taking over adjoining four-storey buildings and was soon hosting opera stars from the nearby Grand Opera House on Eighth Avenue. One attempt at innovation backfired spectacularly when a phonograph was introduced to provide entertainment to the patrons. That is, until the celebrated Metropolitan Opera House star Luisa Tetrazzini came in and caused a terrible scene after hearing "distortions" in her own voice. Unlike many other restaurants Cavanagh's survived the Prohibition years because it never had a bar and didn't rely on alcohol sales. The restaurants early specialties included oyster stews, lobster, steaks, fried oysters and chops. This charming menu cover was illustrated by renowned artist Eugene Karlin.